So what do you get when you find a willing model, a tidal pool, about 50 curious onlookers, and you ask a mate to meet you on a Friday evening straight after work, to assist you with a shoot, with only 10 minutes of sunlight left?

The answer is, this:

Image

To make matters worse, in our hast to catch the last few rays, I discovered that I had space for only a handful of images on my camera’s card, with the few tiny back-up cards floating around in my car, which was parked a fair distance away. This resulted in further scrambling by my inexperienced but enthusiastic assistant to fetch the spare cards so that we could make the most of rapidly dwindling light.

I’d visited the location earlier in the week and in my mind I had a pretty good idea of what I was looking for from the shot. Frantically but peacefully, it all came together. The way in which the shoot was taken wasn’t ideal, but I think I speak for all involved when I say that getting it done gave us all a bit of an adrenaline rush, and resulted in an image that is stunning, and exactly what I was looking for.

Despite the appearance of warmth in the shot, Beate nearly had to be carried out of the water; it was so cold! (Look closely and you can even see the goosebumps on her skin.) But to her credit, she stuck it out very professionally, and bravely conformed to every minute instruction I gave her – much to the delight of the crowd of spectators that had formed.

See more shots from our shoot here.

