Image

OK, so it’s not really the greatest photograph of lightning that has ever been taken, but it’s not bad for a man – known to be useless at multitasking – who decided at the last minute to snap a few shots out of the window, while simultaneously trying to watch the season premier of Survivor, and while cowering under the coffee table!

All the really big lightning strikes happened moments before I found the bravery to stick my hand out from behind the sofa to trip the shutter with a long stick.

Being born and bred in Cape Town means that I’m as fascinated and exhilarated by lightning as I am shit-scared of it. Unlike my friends who live in other parts of the country, and are as weary of it as I am of Christmas tree lights, I was convinced that because I was on the second floor of the building, coupled with the fact that I was chowing into a packet of chips, it would mean that the storm would sense the metal in the foil-lining, change its direction, and hunt me down by zapping a trillion gigawattses through my toes.

Needless to say, I didn’t manage to learn all the names of the new Survivors, because I was too busy contemplating which would be the safest place in the room to hide. But I did get this picture, which doesn’t really do the the scene any justice.

Trust me, it was the biggest lightning you’ve ever seen, man!

True Story.

