Getting ready for the start of a 400m stint of a mixed medley race.

The formidable, physically imposing, and very softly-spoken, Lwazi Monakali, preparing himself for the start of his 400m stint of the boys-u17 mixed-medley relay at Rondebosch Boys High School on the 14th of October 2013

While some might remember my own glory days of being a fairly competent high school athlete, most people don’t realise that I’m still involved in the sport. …as a coach at the renowned SACS High School, in Newlands Cape Town.

I have the pleasure of coaching the cream of the school’s long jumpers and sprinters, and I’m pleased to say they not only afford me the chance to take some really pleasing photographs, but more than that, they give me great pride in seeing these young men develop and gain accolades, self-confidence, and respect from their peers and mentors alike.

I’m looking forward to watching them this afternoon at an inter-school meeting on our home-ground.

